The Chicago Blues Hall of Fame recently announced that the  5th Annual Chicago Blues Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will return to Buddy Guy’s Legend’s, 700 South Wabash Avenue, in Chicago on Sunday, October 15, 2017, from 2:00pm to 4:00pm cst.  Tickets are available online at Buddy Guy’s Legends here.

The Induction Ceremony returns to Chicago in 2017 with a series of special features and awards. This year’s celebration will be dedicated to longtime host, Michael Packer.  Parker passed away earlier in 2017.  This year’s ceremony is aptly titled “Michael Packer presents The Chicago Blues Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony”.  Hostess for the proceedings will be Jeanne Sparrow with the Mike Wheeler Band.

The Induction Ceremony will include Pioneer Blues Legends inductees Pervis Spann, The Blues Man and Herman Roberts of Roberts Motel as well as the Blues Clubs and their owners Clarence Ludd – High Chaparral, Artis Ludd (Posthumously) – Artis’ Lounge, Don and Larry Simmons – Taste,  Artie “Blues Boy” White (Posthumously) – Bootsie’s, Mozell Barnes – East of The Ryan  and Mr. G’s, Larry Stevens – Larry’s, Hayes Harris – Good Rockin Horse and Willie Moore – Lump’s Showcase.  Melody Spann-Cooper and Radio Station WVON will also receive an award.  Also, there will be a presentation of the 1999 Legend Award to Little Walter.

The Blues Legend award will be presented to: Eddie C. Campbell: LEGEND, Holle Thee Maxwell – LEGEND, Gene Daddy G Barge: LEGEND, John Primer: LEGEND, Carl Weathersby: LEGEND and Big Llou Johnson (the voice of Bluesville radio, blues artist): LEGEND

The 2017 Induction Ceremony will also award the Blues Master award to: Katherine Davis: MASTER, Benny Turner: MASTER, Abb Locke (sax): MASTER, Mary Lane: MASTER, Zora Young: MASTER, Shirley Johnson: MASTER, Smiley Tillmon: MASTER, Little Ed & The Blues Imperials: MASTERS, Big James Montgomery: MASTER, Felton Crews (famous bass player): MASTER, Ariyo (current piano, Sons of Blues, past: Otis Rush & more): MASTER, Mose Rutues (Sons of Blues, Retired): MASTER, Vance Kelly: MASTER, Carlos Johnson: MASTER, Kenny Kinsey & Ralph Kinsey: MASTER, Maurice John Vaughn: MASTER, Quintus McCormick: MASTER, Sugar Blue: MASTER, Little Al Thomas: MASTER, Pierre Lacocque & (Mississippi Heat): MASTER, Peaches Staten: MASTER and Eddie Taylor, Jr.: MASTER

The Chicago Blues Hall of Fame® makes its debut on Facebook Live, October 15, 2017 at 2PM (CST).

The Induction Ceremony was previously held in Chicago at Buddy Guy’s Legends in 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014.

Chicago Blues Hall of Fame Facebook